Sarah C. Vaughn, a shareholder attorney with Fabian VanCott, was recently recognized by The Utah Defense Lawyers Association as their Horizon Award recipient for 2021.  The UDLA’s Horizon Award honors young attorneys who have achieved a level of excellence in the defense of private and public entities, insurance companies and their insureds, and where the individual has distinguished themselves through years of professional service as a defense lawyer.  Ms. Vaughn joined Fabian Vancott in 2018.  Her legal practice is focused primarily on litigation where she has represented clients in administrative hearings, defended heath care providers and employers before DOPL and the Labor Commission, and represented clients at trial, arbitrations, mediations, and before appellate courts.

Fabian VanCott has added three new associate attorneys: Nathan G. Guymon, Kyle A. Harvey, and Elizabeth M. Stubbs to its office in Salt Lake City.  Nate Guymon is an intellectual property lawyer who has been practicing since 2012 and focuses his practice on patent preparation and prosecution, with an emphasis on electronic device hardware and software technologies.  Guymon received both his law degree and a degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Utah.  Kyle Harvey is a corporate and business transactional lawyer who has been practicing since 2019 and focuses his practice on a wide array of corporate, commercial, and international transactions, with an emphasis on data privacy.  He also has experience implementing early-stage financing and strategies for closely held corporations and entities.  Harvey received his law degree from Brigham Young University.  Elizabeth Stubbs is a litigation lawyer who has been practicing since 2020 and focuses her practice on employment, education, personal injury, product liability, and complex commercial litigation.  She also has experience with ERISA claims, IDEA claims, and contract disputes.  Stubbs received her law degree from the University of Oregon.

Fabian VanCott is pleased to announce that 19 of its attorneys in 11 different practice areas have been selected by Super Lawyers to their 2021 Mountain States list.  Super Lawyers uses a rigorous process for identifying attorneys who demonstrate excellence in their business-related areas of practice.  Peer nominations and evaluations are combined with independent research. Each candidate is evaluated on 12 indicators of peer recognition and professional achievement. Selections are made on an annual, state-by-state basis.

The Fabian VanCott attorneys who were selected to the Super Lawyers 2021 Mountain States list were:

Business Litigation: Kevin N. Anderson; John P. Ashton; P. Bruce Badger; Scott M. Lilja; Artemis D. Vamianakis

Business/Corporate: Jay B. Bell; Victor A. Pollak; Andrew Sellers

Real Estate: Diane H. Banks; Scott R. Sabey

Energy & Resources: Rosemary J. Beless

Personal Injury Products – Plaintiff: Douglas B. Cannon

Environmental: H. Michael Keller

Employee Benefits: David N. Kelley

Bankruptcy – Business: Douglas J. Payne

Employment & Labor: Scott M. Petersen

Creditor Debtor Rights: Gerald H. Suniville

Estate & Probate: David E. Sloan; Stephen R. Sloan


Fabian VanCott is pleased to announce that 21 of its attorneys in 12 different practice areas have been named as 2021 Utah Legal Elite™ by Utah Business magazine.  Legal Elite honorees are selected by their peers in a statewide balloting process.  Members of the Utah Bar were invited to participate by submitting a ballot of Utah attorneys they hold in the highest regard—lawyers they have observed firsthand and would recommend to others.  Nominators were allowed to cast only one ballot and could not vote for themselves.

The Fabian VanCott attorneys who were recognized as Utah’s Legal Elite in 2021 are:

Bankruptcy/Workout: Douglas J. Payne

Civil Litigation: Kevin N. Anderson; Clint R. Hansen; Jason W. Hardin

Energy & Natural Resources: Rosemary J. Beless; Artemis D. Vamianakis

Environmental: H. Michael Keller

Estate Planning: Jennifer E. Decker; David E. Sloan; Stephen R. Sloan

Government: Rachel S. Anderson

Healthcare: David N. Kelley

Intellectual Property: Nicole M. Deforge 

Labor & Employment: Joan M. Andrews; Scott M. Petersen

Real Estate: Diane H. Banks; Scott R. Sabey

Tax: David J. Lyon; James C. Waddoups

Up & Coming: Bryant W. Jensen; Sarah C. Vaughn