The 2021 Edition of the U.S. News – Best Lawyers “Best Law Firms” rankings were announced last week and Fabian VanCott was awarded “Best Law Firm” in Utah for the following practice areas:

  • Appellate Practice
  • Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Corporate Law
  • Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law
  • Employment Law – Management
  • Energy Law
  • Energy Regulatory Law
  • Litigation – Banking & Finance
  • Litigation – Bankruptcy
  • Litigation – Environmental
  • Litigation – Land Use & Zoning
  • Litigation – Real Estate
  • Litigation – Regulatory Enforcement (SEC, Telecom, Energy)
  • Mining Law
  • Natural Resources Law
  • Patent Law
  • Product Liability Litigation – Plaintiffs
  • Real Estate Law
  • Tax Law
  • Trusts & Estates Law
  • Water Law

Recognition by Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer review. Review methodology is designed to capture, as accurately as possible, the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical area and legal practice area. Best Lawyers employs a sophisticated, conscientious, rational, and transparent survey process designed to elicit meaningful and substantive evaluations of the quality of legal services.

Fabian VanCott is proud to celebrate the selection of attorney Jennifer E. Decker by Utah Business as one of the 2020 “Thirty Women to Watch” in Utah.  The women of Utah are known for their leadership. After all, Utah women were the first women to vote, a Utah woman was the first female state senator, and it was a Utah woman who was one of the first female Sheriff’s deputies.  Fabian VanCott has one of the most active and accomplished women lawyer groups in Utah.  Congratulations Ms. Decker!

Utah Business July 2020 – Meet the 2020 “Thirty Women to Watch” in Utah

Fabian VanCott’s Women Lawyers Group

Fabian VanCott is pleased to announce that 19 of its attorneys in 11 different practice areas have been selected by Super Lawyers to their 2020 Mountain States list.  Super Lawyers uses a rigorous process for identifying attorneys who demonstrate excellence in their business-related areas of practice.  Peer nominations and evaluations are combined with independent research. Each candidate is evaluated on 12 indicators of peer recognition and professional achievement. Selections are made on an annual, state-by-state basis.

The Fabian VanCott attorneys who were selected to the Super Lawyers 2020 Mountain States list were:

Business Litigation: Kevin N. Anderson; John P. Ashton; P. Bruce Badger; Scott M. LiljaArtemis D. Vamianakis

Business/Corporate: Jay B. Bell; Victor A. Pollak; Andrew B. Sellers

Real Estate: Diane H. Banks; Scott R. Sabey; Robert G. Crockett 

Energy & Resources: Rosemary J. Beless

Civil Litigation – Defense: Peter W. Billings

Personal Injury Products – Plaintiff: Douglas B. Cannon

Environmental: H. Michael Keller

Employment Litigation – Defense: David N. Kelley

Bankruptcy – Business: Douglas J. Payne

Employment & Labor: Scott M. Petersen

Creditor Debtor Rights: Gerald H. Suniville

Fabian VanCott is pleased to announce that 28 of its attorneys in 12 different practice areas have been named as 2020 Utah Legal Elite™ by Utah Business magazine.  Legal Elite honorees are selected by their peers in a statewide balloting process.  Members of the Utah Bar were invited to participate by submitting a ballot of Utah attorneys they hold in the highest regard—lawyers they have observed firsthand and would recommend to others.  Nominators were allowed to cast only one ballot and could not vote for themselves.

The Fabian VanCott attorneys who were recognized as Utah’s Legal Elite in 2020 are:

Bankruptcy/Workout: David P. Billings; Douglas J. Payne

Civil Litigation: P. Bruce Badger; Clint R. Hansen; Jason W. Hardin; Scott M. Lilja

Energy & Natural Resources: Rosemary J. Beless; Artemis D. Vamianakis

Environmental: H. Michael Keller

Estate Planning: Jennifer E. Decker; David E. Sloan; Stephen R. Sloan; Stephen D. Swindle

Intellectual Property: Nicole M. Deforge

Government: Rachel S. Anderson

Labor & Employment: Joan M. Andrews; David N. Kelley; Scott M. Petersen

Merges & Acquisitions: Nora K. Brunelle; Kyle C. Jones; Victor A. Pollak; James C. Waddoups

Real Estate: Matthew L. Anderson; Rand L. Cook; Robert G. Crockett; Scott R. Sabey

Tax: David J. Lyon

Up & Coming: Tyler M. Jeffs

Salt Lake City headquartered law firm Fabian VanCott has elected its 2020 Board of Directors: Jason W. Hardin, James C. Waddoups, Joan M. Andrews, Nora K. Brunelle and Scott R. Sabey.  The firm also appointed Kyle C. Jones as its new Managing Shareholder.  Hardin, who was elected President of the firm for the third year, stated: “I am honored to continue serving the firm and am extremely proud to call myself partner to so many talented, committed, diverse individuals.” Fabian VanCott is a full service business law firm with roots dating back to 1874.